Connect with us


Full List Of Party, Assembly Members, That Impeached Ogun Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo



Following the impeachment of Ogun State House Of Assembly’s Speaker, Mr Olakunle Oluomo, the full list of the Assembly members who signed the impeachment letter emerges.

Kunle Oluomo was impeached during Tuesday’s 23rd of January plenary session.

18 out of the 26 members of the State Assembly voted in favour of Oluomo’s impeachment.

Oluomo was impeached on charges of embezzlement, lack of focus, lack of transparency, highhandedness, and other offenses.

The Assembly immediately elected a member, Oludaisi Elemide, as the new speaker.

According to the lawmakers, Oluomo ought to have been impeached since last year, but was pardoned due to the intervention of the state governor and party leaders.

They hinged their actions in consonance with section 92(2)(c) of the Nigeria constitution and Order 11 of the standing rule of the House of Assembly.

In a notice of impeachment addressed to the Clerk of the House on Tuesday, the 18 lawmakers said they removed the speaker for gross misconduct which bothers on arrogance, and poor leadership style, financial misappropriation, and inciting members against others.

The copy of the impeachment notice obtained by The Eaglesforesight reads: “whereas the office of the speaker must be first among equals whereas it is supposed to be dignified.

“Whereas office of speaker supposed to be responsible to the honorable members of the people of Ogun state.

“Consequent upon the gross of Mr. Speaker which bothers on high-handedness, lack of focus and transparency, arrogance and poor leadership style, financial misappropriation and inciting members against themselves.

“Sequel to the gross misconduct above mentioned and in consonance with section 92(2)(c) of the constitution of the federal republic of Nigeria and order 11 of the standing rule of the House of Assembly, we the undersigned duly elected members of the 10th Assembly of Ogun State House of Assembly move for the impeachment of mr speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Taiwo oluomo with immediate effect.”

Speaking to journalists shortly after swearing-in Hon. Oludaisi Elemide as the new speaker, Hon. Adegoke Awoso explained that, Oluomo ought to have stepped aside when he was picked up by the anti-graft agency for financial misappropriation.

Related News:

He added that, rather to be remorseful, the impeached speaker allegedly embezzled their housing allowance without giving an account.

Below is the full list of the 10th Ogun State House of Assembly members that signed and impeached Mr Olakunle Oluomo:

1. Hon. Adeyanju Adegoke Olusesi (APC) Egbado North

2. Hon. Akingbade Jemili A. (APC) Imeko Afon

3. Hon. Lawal Samsideen Adekunle (PDP) Ogun Waterside

4. Hon. Ayodele Wasiu (APC) Abeokuta South 2

5. Hon. Lamidi Olatunji (APC) Ado-Odo/Igbesa

6. Hon. Awolaja Dickson Kolawole (PDP) Remo North

7. Hon. Adeniran Ademola Adeyinka (APC) Makun, Sagamu 2

8. Hon. Elemide Oladaisi (APC) Odeda

9. Hon Damilare Bello Mohammed (PDP) Offin, Sagamu 1

10. Hon. Adesanya Oluseun (PDP) Ijebu North East

11. Hon. Atobatele Lukmon (PDP) Abeokuta South 1

12. Hon. Waliu Ifedolapo Owode (PDP) Ijebu East

13. Hon. Amosun Yusuf (APC) Ewekoro

14. Hon. Babatunde Tella (APC) Abeokuta North

15. Hon. Soneye Damilola (APC) Obafemi Owode

16. Hon Adeleye Lukman (PDP) Odogbolu

17. Hon. Ajayi Bolanle Lateefat (APM) Yewa South

18. Hon. Kashamu Rasheed (PDP) Ijebu North

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *