Connect with us


APC Makes U-turn, Declares Edo Guber Primaries Inconclusive



The National Working Committee NWC of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC has declared as inconclusive, last Saturday’s Governorship Primary Election in Edo state.

The decision was taken late Tuesday after an emergency meeting of the NWC.

The poll, which was conducted on February 17 had produced three winners.

The Chairman of Electoral Committee of the primary, Governor Hope Uzodimma, had announced Dennis Idahosa as winner, while returning officer, Stanley Ugboaja, declared Monday Okpebholo as winner.

Addressing newsmen after the meeting, which lasted for about three hours, APC spokesman, Felix Morka, said; “The NWC resolves that the Edo State governorship primary election has not been completed and has now fixed Thursday, February 22, 2024 for the completion of the APC primary election process.”

He declined further media enquiries.

Local Government returning officers for the primary election, led by Babatunde Ojo had on Saturday declared Anamero Dekeri, a serving house of representatives member, winner of the exercise.

Related Articles:

The development came after Chairman of the Primary Election Committee and Imo state Governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma had declared another federal lawmakers Dennis Idahosa winner of the exercise.

On his part, returning Officer of the exercise, Stanley Ugboaja had declared Senator Monday Okpebholo as winner.

The three “candidates” had since demanded that the NWC issues them a Certificate of Return.

Meanwhile, the party’s National Chairman, Abdullahi Ganduje, had earlier congratulated Idahosa on this emergence as the party’s candidate.

It was not clear as of press time what led to the decision of the party’s NWC led by Ganduje.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *