Connect with us


2023 Election: Whom To Becomes Next Adamawa Governor Triggers Uneasy Calmness



Adamawa State was calm up to the early evening of Saturday as voters in 69 polling units across 20 LGAs trooped out en masse to finally decide who becomes the next governor of the state.

It was an uneasy calm, however, because the governorship election in the state has been a closely fought one and tension had been high towards the weekend in anticipation of the rerun election.

As recently as on Thursday, April 13, the campaign council of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had briefed the press, restating the party’s vote of no confidence in the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Hudu Ari, asking once again that he should be removed.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) had quickly hit back, asking the PDP to fear nothing if its hands were clean, even as the party maintained its reservation about the initial March 18 election in which the PDP got the leading votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) did not listen to either PDP or APC. The electoral body has retained Ari and has gone ahead with the rerun election today without reviewing the March 18 election in 16 LGAs as requested by APC.

The two parties appeared to have accepted their fate and had come into the rerun with apparent calm.

Residents turned out in large numbers on Saturday morning and afternoon to decide who becomes the next governor between the PDP candidate, Governor Ahmadu Fintiri, and his APC counterpart, Senator Aishatu Ahmed Binani.

The governorship rerun took place in 69 units across 20 local government areas where votes were cancelled during the initial March 18 governorship/House of Assembly elections and where 37,016 residents who collected their PVCs are now expected to vote.

Related News:

The 20 LGAs where the governorship rerun took place and their respective number of polling units are as follows:

Demsa – 1

Ganye – 1

Girei – 3

Gombi – 1

Guyuk 2

Hong – 5

Jada – 1

Lamurde – 3

Madagali – 1

Maiha – 1

Mayo Belwa – 3

Michika – 7

Mubi North – 6

Mubi/South – 2

Numan – 14

Shelleng – 3

Song – 4

Toungo – 2

Yola North – 3

Yola South – 6

Ahmadu Fintiri of the PDP came into the rerun with a lead margin of 31,049 votes over his closest challenger, Aishatu Ahmed Binani of the APC.

With 37,016 maximum votes expected from the rerun, Binani is widely seen as having little chance of cancelling Fintiri’s lead.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *